Australia Skilled Worker


Australia Skilled Worker

Australia's employment visa framework is designed to address the country's skill shortages by attracting skilled workers from around the globe.

Overview of Main Employment Visa Categories

Temporary Skill Shortage Visa (Subclass 482)

The Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) Visa allows Australian employers to sponsor foreign workers to fill skilled positions for which local talent is unavailable. Applicants must be nominated by an approved employer and possess the skills and qualifications for the nominated occupation. This visa involves a three-step process: sponsorship by the employer, nomination for a specific position, and the visa application itself.

Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189) (Points-tested stream)

This visa is for skilled workers who are not sponsored by an employer or family member or nominated by a state or territory government. It uses a points-based system to select applicants who possess certain attributes contributing to Australia's economy. Points are awarded based on age, English language proficiency, skilled employment experience, and educational qualifications, among other factors.

Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186)

The Employer Nomination Scheme visa is a permanent residency visa for skilled workers. It requires nomination by an Australian employer and allows workers and their families to live, work, and study in Australia indefinitely. Applicants must meet the skills, qualifications, and English language requirements of the nominated position.

Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (Subclass 187)

This visa is similar to the Employer Nomination Scheme but is specifically for skilled workers who want to work in regional Australia. It also requires nomination by an employer in a regional area and has two streams: the Direct Entry stream and the Temporary Residence Transition stream, each with its own eligibility criteria.

Eligibility Requirements

While each employment visa category has its unique set of requirements, there are some general eligibility criteria that applicants must typically meet:

  • Age: Applicants must usually be under a certain age limit, which can vary depending on the visa subclass.
  • English Language Proficiency: Most employment visas require applicants to demonstrate a certain level of English language proficiency, often assessed through standardized tests such as IELTS, TOEFL, PTE, or OET.
  • Skills Assessment: Applicants may need to undergo a skills assessment by an authorized assessing authority to verify their qualifications and work experience in their nominated occupation.
  • Health and Character Requirements: All applicants must meet the Australian health and character requirements, which include a health examination and a police clearance certificate to prove they have no significant criminal background.


  • Temporary Skill Shortage Visa (Subclass 482): Applicants must have at least two years of relevant work experience in their nominated occupation or a related field. They also need to be nominated for a position by an approved sponsor and have an occupation listed on the relevant skilled occupation list.
  • Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189) (Points-tested stream): This visa requires applicants to score sufficiently in the points-based system, which evaluates factors such as skilled employment experience, educational qualifications, and age. The minimum points threshold is subject to change based on immigration policy.
  • Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186): Besides being nominated by an Australian employer, applicants must meet the skills and qualifications requirements of their nominated position, which typically includes having at least three years of relevant work experience and holding any necessary licenses or registration for the occupation.
  • Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (Subclass 187): Similar to the Subclass 186 visa but with an emphasis on addressing skill shortages in regional Australia. Applicants must be nominated by an employer in a designated regional area and meet any specific requirements of the stream through which they are applying.

Document Checklist

The specific documents required can vary based on the visa category and individual circumstances, but generally, applicants will need to prepare the following:

  • Personal Identification: Passport bio-data page, birth certificate, and any name change documentation.
  • Skill Assessment Report: From the relevant assessing authority for the nominated occupation.
  • English Language Test Results: Showing that the applicant meets the required level of English proficiency.
  • Employment References and Employment History: Detailed employment references outlining the applicant's work experience, roles, and responsibilities relevant to the nominated occupation.
  • Educational Qualifications: Copies of academic transcripts and qualification certificates.
  • Health Examination Reports: From approved panel physicians.
  • Police Clearance Certificates: From every country the applicant has lived in for 12 months or more over the last ten years.

For specific visa categories, additional documents may be required, such as:

  • Nomination Approval: For visas requiring employer nomination.
  • License or Registration: If the occupation requires a license or registration to practice in Australia.
  • Partner and Dependent Information: If including family members in the application, documents verifying relationships (marriage certificates, birth certificates) are necessary.